Poem: My Dear Baby

 

My Dear Baby,

I am your Mama,

Your marble brown irises,

Do they recognise me,

In the midst of our crises?

 

My Darling Baby,

Did you ever know,

The day you found a home inside me,

Was the best day of my life,

Whatever others may decree.

 

My Beloved,

The second your tiny heart started to pulse,

Nourishing your life with mine,

My own raced electric,

Fired by my love for my divine.

 

My Sweet Baby,

I cared no more for anything else,

As you grew inside me and my mind,

No wait can be as tempting and sweet,

To believe, I am inclined.

 

My Lovely Child,

But as destiny would have,

Our relations, the ones you would call grandparents,

Were bloodthirsty for a male child,

And wanted to empty my blooming womb off its contents.

 

My Royal Princess,

I tried my best and put up a strong defence,

I did not allow you to be killed,

I wanted to save you from those savages,

To escape their ruthless backward guild.

 

My Sweetheart,

But Mother Nature is no mother at all,

For the fight was lost,

Not against the familial foes,

But my own body had turned a holocaust.

 

My Precious Doll,

My confidence and worthiness had been crushed,

By the weight of my empty hollow womb,

While the others rejoiced,

I craved to dig my own tomb.

 

My Dear Baby,

Sometimes I think of better times that never came,

What it would have felt like to hold your tiny fingers,

Night and day, dreams merge with reality,

As our imagined bond lingers.

 

Foetus

Daily Prompt: Micro

.

8 thoughts on “Poem: My Dear Baby

Add yours

  1. This is so heart-wrenching!

    The way you pen down such painful stuff is beyond my imagination. It is sad. It is powerfully laced with the cruel deeds of people having such mentality

    A beautiful yet brutal post!

    Love,
    Enigma 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Kalpavriksha Kamadhenu

Valuable information on Hindu Festivals, Slokas, Prayers, Dasara Songs, Vegetarian cooking, and many other relevant topics can be found here.

Themoonlightreverie

Cause reverie is when ideas float in our mind without reflection or regard of the understanding. And all of it is TRANSIENT.

paeansunpluggedblog

songs unheard by the poet next door

My Journey to the CrossFit Games

Relentlessly Pursuing Excellence in CrossFit & In Life